cowie's kinders

Hi! I’m Erin. I’m married and have two little boys. Right now in this season of life, my hobbies include getting 5 minutes to myself, drinking my coffee while it’s still hot, and having a clean house! 

But really, when not wrangling two small children–I’m a true Type A/perfectionist that enjoys a good devotional; true crime documentaries; spending time with my family and friends; consuming more caffeine than any human ever should; decorating and organizing my home and classroom; and spending way too much money on baby boy clothes (People always told me while I was pregnant that cute boy clothes were so hard to find–I clearly never had that problem!). 

I have recently taken up gardening, and have really enjoyed learning how to do something that normally would be out of my comfort zone. I have a *somewhat unhealthy* obsession with collecting pretty clipart and fonts, and own WAY more than I could possibly ever use. My best and worst quality is that I’m either all in or all out. I never halfway do anything, but that also means I’m usually afraid to try something new unless I’m sure I can do it well. 

MY EDUCATION & TEACHING EXPERIENCE

I earned a Doctorate of Education in 2020 and my dissertation was on parental perceptions of kindergarten readiness, which is something near and dear to my heart. I also have a BS in Child Development and Family Relations, and an MA and EdS in Curriculum and Instruction. I am certified to teach PreK-3/SPED PreK-3 and ESOL K-12. I basically loved school so much that I just kept going!

I’ve previously taught 1st grade for two years and kindergarten for four years. I’ve spent most of my teaching career at the same super diverse, Title 1 school. My favorite grade to teach content was 1st, but I really enjoy the extra magic that comes with teaching kinder!

Thanks for joining me here on my little corner of the Internet, and I hope to hear from you soon!